Counselling Skills Course

If you’ve completed our Personal Growth course, and are ready to continue your journey to becoming a qualified LifeLine counsellor, you need to join our Counselling Skills course. Based on the principles of experiential learning, this course follows a person-centred counselling model.

This course runs over a period of 9 weeks, and consists of weekly three-hour sessions. All sessions are facilitated by experienced LifeLine counsellors, who provide support and regular feedback every step of the way.

You can download your course application here.

Course content:

Session 1: Introduction to Lifeline’s counselling approach – observation and attending skills
Session 2: Self-awareness and questioning
Session 3: Reflection of feelings in establishing a relationship
Session 4: Reflection of content in establishing a relationship
Session 5: Challenging
Session 6: Relationship and depth counselling
At-Home-Facilitator-Calls: Trainees are assigned a facilitator with whom to do a test call
Session 7: Depth and spiritual counselling
Session 8: Face to face counselling and questions (practical experience)
Session 9: Closure, review and wrap-up

 

Course dates for CCS1-2018 (Tuesday evenings, 19h00-22h00):

Session 1: Tuesday, 10 April 2018 (Compulsory)
Session 2: Tuesday, 17 April 2018
Session 3: Tuesday, 24 April 2018
Session 4: Tuesday, 08 May 2018
Session 5: Tuesday, 15 May 2018
Session 6: Tuesday, 22 May 2018
Session 7: Tuesday, 29 May 2018
Session 8: Tuesday, 05 June 2018 (Compulsory)
Session 9: Tuesday, 12 June 2018 (Compulsory)

Course Fees: R2550
Early Bird Special: R2300
Deposit & Payment terms: R1000 x 3 = R3000

Early Bird special: R2300 to be paid in full by 12pm Tuesday, 27 March 2018

The costs of the course: R2550 to be paid in full by 12pm Monday, 09 April 2018

Payment Terms: R1000 deposit to be paid by 12pm Friday, 06 April 2018
(Two additional instalments of R1000 to be paid during the course, which will amount to a total payment of R3000)

 

Course dates for CCS2-2018 (Tuesday mornings, 10h00 – 13h00):

Session 1: Tuesday, 17 July 2018 (Compulsory)
Session 2: Tuesday, 24 July 2018
Session 3: Tuesday, 31 July 2018
Session 4: Tuesday, 07 August 2018
Session 5: Tuesday, 14 August 2018
Session 6: Tuesday, 21 August 2018
Session 7: Tuesday, 28 August 2018
Session 8: Tuesday, 04 September 2018 (Compulsory)
Session 9: Tuesday, 11 September 2018 (Compulsory)

Course Fees: R2550
Early Bird Special: R2300
Deposit & Payment terms: R1000 x 3 = R3000

Early Bird special: R2300 to be paid in full by 12pm Tuesday, 03 July 2018

The costs of the course: R2550 to be paid in full by 12pm Monday, 16 July 2018

Payment Terms: R1000 deposit to be paid by 12pm Friday, 13 July 2018
(Two additional instalments of R1000 to be paid during the course, which will amount to a total payment of R3000)

 

Course dates for CCS3-2018 (Thursday evenings, 19h00-22h00):

Session 1: Thursday, 04 October 2018 (Compulsory)
Session 2: Thursday, 11 October 2018
Session 3: Thursday, 18 October 2018
Session 4: Thursday, 25 October 2018
Session 5: Thursday, 01 November 2018
Session 6: Thursday, 08 November 2018
Session 7: Thursday, 15 November 2018
Session 8: Thursday, 22 November 2018 (Compulsory)
Session 9: Thursday, 29 November 2018 (Compulsory)

Course Fees: R2550
Early Bird Special: R2300
Deposit & Payment terms: R1000 x 3 = R3000

Early Bird special: R2300 to be paid in full by 12pm Thursday, 20 September 2018

The costs of the course: R2550 to be paid in full by 12pm Wednesday, 03 October 2018

Payment Terms: R1000 deposit to be paid by 12pm Friday, 28 September 2018
(Two additional instalments of R1000 to be paid during the course, which will amount to a total payment of R3000)

 

Direct Deposits or EFT:

LifeLine/Childline Western Cape, Standard Bank,
Thibault Square, code: 020909
Account Number: 071552839
REF: Name, Surname, Course Code – e.g. CCS1-2018

Please EMAIL or FAX a copy of deposit slip or Proof of payment with name and course as reference to 021 461 6400 or training@lifelinewc.org.za

Fees are not refundable and non-transferable after the course has commenced. For inquiries, please contact: 021 461 1113.